LegacyGT.com

Hello everyone, I own a 1998 Legacy GT Limited Sedan which I love. However, it has the stock US EJ25 with its sad 4 spd transmission. It has 157,000 miles.

The car still runs pretty well  and looks amazing with little flaws as the previous owner garage kept it as a commuter. But you all can guess it’s SLOW, very SLOW (and the auto transmission is trash and on its way out anyway).

With all that said, I am a mechanic at a Subaru dealership (though I’m 18 and not extremely knowledgeable) and want to engine swap to the twin turbo ej20r.

I know that the ej20r came out of the GTB from Japan (I think?) of the same year so would that engine work best ? I know I could technically do like a ej257 wrx swap or something like that, but the EJ20R sounds cooler, is twin turbo, and I’ve heard is pretty strong (does it have forged internals?). I also know that a lot of sensors and everything would mate right up from my engine, although that might be the case with most EJ engines. 

What manual tranny mates up well for my car and for one of these engines? Would the manual off the GTB be the best option or maybe just the usdm 5 spd? Or is there any 6spd transmissions that would work?

I appreciate any help I can get I’m really excited of this being a possibility I just want to choose the best option for my car.

Any tips and tricks also would help, like what I need to know about using the Usdm computer and the usdm intake so that it’s still tunable and works fine with all the Egr and weird “eco-friendly” us requirements the original engine has. Thanks!

Edited by ElijahHooper

Haven’t got too many answers for you mate, but good luck on the swap!

Before you buy yourself a pile of headache, you may want to look into the reason why so many people that HAD the twin turbo EJ20s swapped them over to a single turbo. Lots of information out there on the topic.

An EJ20X is going to be a fraction of the cost/headache to make work, and is a known value these days.