LegacyGT.com

WRX exhaust fitment for LGT Wagons

Hey all, I'm very new to the Legacy forums and dont really know how things work around here so if something about this post looks off thats probably why.

I bought an '05 Legacy GT wagon 5MT recently, its completely stock with just over 65k miles on the clock. I decided that a catback exhaust will be my first mod to get that boxer rumble we all love, so I've been searching for exhausts and unfortunately there are not any LGT specific exhausts that I would want on my car. Outside of the Legacy world, I have been looking at Tomei expreme series exhaust, and I read in a forum post that 15+ catbacks for the wrx are "nearly a direct bolt up" to a legacy gt. 

Does anyone around here have any experience with putting a WRX made exhaust on an LGT, and if not are there any recommendations for single exit exhaust for a GT wagon. 

Cheers all, a PNW Subaru nerd

Damn, how in the world did you find one with 65K on the clock? That's insanity. Most of us are over 200K by now. I would almost suggest just leaving it alone given how rare these are and how uncommon they've become with them being wrecked, rusted away, etc over the years, but it's your car.

Have you listened to clips of the Borla exhaust for our car? It will give you that "Subaru" sound. Here's my car from a couple of years ago linked in a video below. It also has an Invidia downpipe on it, which will change the sound a bit. Because our cars are longer than a WRX, you won't get the *exact* sound of one of those, but you can come pretty close. The Greddy SP2 is also a good option for a wagon that gives you that sound and will fit the wagon a bit better length-wise. I later had metal pipe welded to my Borla's mufflers to fit the length of the wagon. Yes, I know that's hard to stomach given that the exhaust is so expensive. If you can find the Greddy SP2 then that would give you all you're looking for, but I believe they're discontinued. Here's a sound clip.