LegacyGT.com

cBax's #ynansb thread

New to the forums. Bought a '05 OBXT w/ 109k on it and spun a bearing 70 miles later. So here I am.

Here is my build thread.

http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/cbaxs-obxt-build-243419.html

Figured Id start a thread in this section as Im a Subaru noob and need some direction on what to do.

I have not pulled the motor yet. It sounds like a rod is about to exit the block though. Im waiting on the seller's mechanic to come "diagnose" the obvious failure and then Im going to pull it.

I went a looked at an '05 LGT part out today. The guy wants 1200 for the long block (minus turbo) and 5eat. Im also buying suspension parts, so it would be a package deal. Car has 180k on it. ugggh. Was hoping it was reasonable mileage so I had the option to just drop it in. He started it. Radiator is busted, so he just ran it for a minute. Seems to idle and run decent.

Is 1200 a decent price, knowing it needs a rebuild? Im being told that my heads are probably trashed. If I knew they were fine, I think Im better off buying a new shortblock.

I have a goal of 320-350wtq, so Im looking at forged pistons either way.

Im capable of learning to build one. And can most likely come up with any specialty tools needed as well as some advice from experienced local subie guys. The problem is that I want it done as close to right the 1st time as I can get.

edit (pasted from original post #2):

After doing a little more reading around here, I think Im mostly sold on a stockish rebuild or new shortblock.