LegacyGT.com

Subie Newbie - AWD, F/R Weight Ratio, Turbo...

I've been a BMW owner for most of my short "high-speed" career, and definitely appreciate the balance of the 50/50 front/rear weight ratio on those German cars. Unfortunately, the high cost of ownership / not being find the perfect "compromise" BMW has sent me searching elsewhere for options to accommodate my height, my need for *some* speed and cornering, and my need to meld my daily driver + performance car into one. And be somewhat reliable. And keep costs down. :)

I just can't believe the Legacy isn't more popular than it currently is, especially at its price point.

Consumer Reports says that the Legacy has a 57/43 front/rear weight ratio, which is what, say, the Camry's weight ratio would be (I am also a Camry owner... my first car...).

I'm new to the world of AWD, but I'm interested if and how the Legacy 2.5i's and GT's AWD interacts with the weight ratio difference, especially when cornering. Would the AWD tend to transfer more power to the rear as the front bows into and away from a corner?

Also, I remember reading somewhere (forgot the source), and I appreciate being corrected, that the AWD power distribution between front and rear is oh-so-slightly different between the 2.5i and GT. Something about how the AWD in the 2.5i was more front-biased than the GT.

I'm also new to the world of turbos. Short of going for a test-drive (and I plan to do so in the next few days), how's the GT's turbo boost / lag effect compared to NA engines? Will it be very noticeable-- would it send tires chirping as I downshift from 3rd to 2nd, readying for a corner?

All advice and suggestions are appreciated!

how's the GT's turbo boost / lag effect compared to NA engines? Will it be very noticeable-- would it send tires chirping as I downshift from 3rd to 2nd, readying for a corner?

It will be noticable. Not necessarily in the situation you give, but from an acceleration perspective, it's VERY noticable.