LegacyGT.com

OEM clutch gone already???

rocknroll

OK I have an 05 GT with ~48k of mostly highway driving. This car hasn't taken much of a beating since I've owned it and I've been driving a stick for about 9 years. Just recently, I noticed the clutch pedal grabbing a lot higher than it used to (infact too close to the top of the pedal in my opinion) and the pedal is starting to feel softer. My clutch fluid level looks OK. Is this clutch on its way out already? I'd be really surprised to see the cars original set of brake pads outlast the clutch but thats what it looks like might happen. I did get the gold plus extended service plan, but after reading the fine print they don't cover clutch replacement. I may try to get it replaced anyway since a clutch simply should not die this quickly. Anyone else have a similar experience?

• Replies 87
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I always figured that anything past 50k miles for a clutch was borrowed time.

Surprising that your cars would go out with mostly highway driving, but it is a wear item.

Iv'e had clutches last 75k plus. The clutch is a Subie weak point.:icon_mad:

"Belief does not make truth. Evidence makes truth. And belief does not make evidence."

I have too. Had a '88 Nissan Sentra that lasted at least 97k miles (when I sold the car). That car only had about 65hp. But for a wear item I can't really say that I expect to get more than 50k miles out of it. Plus the LGT has a lot of power and torque.

How long are people getting with other 250hp + cars?

A google check and all I could find where standard disclaimers that clutch life depends on driving, vehicle, etc.

I think that the clutch comes to full lockup, but more stress is put under the clutch during starting from the more powerful engine. So I don't think it is an issue of the engine overpowering the clutch so much as the small amount of slippage necessary when starting the car with a 250hp engine is causing more damage than say a 120hp engine.