LegacyGT.com

BE5A48T EJ20 to EJ20x

Hello, my name is Lee. I’m seeking guidance as it relates to making modifications to my 1998 Subaru Legacy B4 (BE5A48T).  Here’s my dilemma, I bought it four years ago as my first car. The seller didn’t notify me of all the issues it had so out of those four years I was only able to drive it for four months. In the first two months the engine knocked, two months later the transmission died. I couldn’t get it repaired then due to parts being extremely difficult to source and very expensive to import in my country. In addition, the mechanic that was given the job was unreliable and dishonest. My goal is to replace the engine and transmission with an EJ20x & 6 speed manual transmission. This entire project will be DIY. I would like to ask for guidance as it relates to the parts, what to look out for and what not to do. I’m not a mechanic, however I am mechanically inclined. I won’t be trying out another mechanic as my luck so far has been met with unreliability and dishonesty.

IMG-20230726-WA0003.jpg

IMG-20230726-WA0006.jpg

IMG-20230726-WA0007.jpg

IMG-20230726-WA0008.jpg

That is very nice looking.  I'm sorry to hear of all the difficulties you've had with it.

I've so far not been a big engine swap person so I might be wrong, but it seems that if you are just getting started working on cars it may be a lot easier to replace engine and trans with the same it has currently.  Of course it's your car and your dream so if you are ready to jump in then by all means do so.

First would be to find a copy of the Factory Service Manual for your model and year.  From that you can start looking at the parts differences between the options you want to swap.