LegacyGT.com

Banjo bolt filters work

I'm replacing the short block due to rod bearing failure.

Metal particles contaminated the heads and all oil passages.

Turbo, oil lines, AVCS solenoinds and gears are clean. The contamination stopped at banjo bolt filters.

My previous subarus, all stock with screens, never had any turbo or oil issues. I'm cleaning the screens and putting everything back the way it was.

Just thought I'll share my experience, I keep reading, some people repeatedly suggesting to remove these. Not a good idea in my opinion.

Great news. Personally, I would put 5K miles on that turbo before declaring victory. Not quite buying into the philosophy of "nothing smaller than the screen holes can hurt my turbo", or "if I can't see it, it can't hurt me."

Scratch that. I would rebuild the turbo.

I am no expert on engines but the recommendation to remove the banjo bolt filters appears sound. In theory having an inline turbo oil filter appears to be a good idea. However if, as they're designed to do, they filter particulates from the oil they're eventually going to clog and possibly starve the turbo of oil. If they were a regular maintenance item then it makes more sense to have them present.

IMO you are correct in your case. "relative4" has the right idea. If your turbo last 5k, I would then insp the filters, if clean, remove them like all the rest of us do.

I would also suggest you rebuild the turbo before it takes out the engine.

305,600miles 5/2012 ej257 short block, 8/2011 installed VF52 turbo, @20.8psi, 280whp, 300ftlbs. (SOLD).  CHECK your oil, these cars use it.

Engine Build - Click Here