LegacyGT.com

Drove 5EAT and 5MT Non-Limited GT Wagons

My local dealer just got in two non-Limited GT Wagons, one with the 5EAT and the other with the 5MT. Just for a point of reference, I have been driving a stock 2002 WRX wagon 5MT for the past three years. My comments are as follows (I did not have a camera - sorry, no pics): First, I have seen a number of posts inquiring if the non-Limited GTs have dual-zone climate control. The two I drove had both dual-zone and Auto climate control. I changed the driver and passenger temps (i.e., digital readouts) just to make sure I was not seeing things. I thought the car looked really good, especially the rims and 45 series tires. But then again, I bought a 2002 WRX when practically everyone thought it was one of the ugliest cars! Oh well. It was dusk when I drove the cars so I did not get a good look at the seat color, but the center section appeared to be light gray (I know there is some brown in it but it looked gray without getting close) and the sides appeared to be black. The feel of the seats (shape and material) reminded me of my WRX's seats, which to me is a good thing. I am 6'1" and fit very well. The driver's area does not appear to be much bigger than the WRX (as others have posted), but that does not bother me much. With the seat adjusted to my normal driving position (I probably sit a little closer than others my size - I do not like my leg close to being completely extended when the clutch is depressed), I would guess that there may have been almost twice the amount of rear seat leg room than my WRX (this was not scientific, but just an estimate from a quick glance - so please do not flame me if this is wrong). I drove the manual first. Either the car was not as fast as my WRX or it is very deceptive since it does not hit as hard at 3,000-3,500 RPM. It is a lot smoother and it does pull, but just not as much as the WRX (at least IMO). I will say that after accelerating through three gears and just casually d