LegacyGT.com

Snow and $ to fill tank

Alright guys, before I go off and commit to buying a 30G car, I have 2 very important questions......

What is driving the LGT in snow like? I live in PA and we have everything from ice, to sleet, to hail, to dusting all the way to the blizzard. I am an ICU nurse/ flight EMT so reliability in bad weather is a must....

And at the worst of times(July) what was it like filling your tank at 4.20 a gallon for premium? What kind of milage were u seeing? Reason being still a college student working on a master's degree...

• Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I am an RN as well. I work in the PACU. To be honest, I don't use te Subaru as often, since I have a crapbox honda civic and I work in the bronx. I only bring the suby to work during bad snow. Otherwise, the honda handles moderate snow pretty well. As far as gas, it's not uncommon to see 50-60 for a fill up when the prices are up

I'm drive my LGT in the Colorado winter weather on all season radials. Since you already know how to drive in winter conditions, the LGT will be a pleasure to drive.

As far as fuel prices, it's going to be painful to fill any car...

^^ LOL!

BUT on a serious note...I have had two AWD Subarus that I have driven during the winter, an 04 Impreza RS and a 98 Forester L. In addition, I have owned and driven in Upstate/Western NY winters a Bronco II, S-10 Blazer and three different Jeeps. In my opinion, the Subies were much better in the snow than any of the trucks. AWD and lower center of gravity felt much more stable on the roads. Just don't take your Legacy and try to drive through snow banks!