LegacyGT.com

I'm new to this, any pointers? 08 LGT Engine

Hello all, I'm new to this forum/online community thing so sorry if I'm too noobish lol. If the info is already available somewhere on here I apologize, I'm not sure how to find it. I have recently acquired an 08 LGT with 104k on the clock and a knock, it's absolutely pristine otherwise. I was informed about the knock by the seller beforehand but I was hoping it was the timing belt tensioner based on his description of how it happened/ sounded and the fact that it was never done, now having the exact milage Subaru recommends changing it. Unfortunately I got it home, pulled the dipstick and low and behold there was some glitter in the oil. The car still runs but I fear not for much longer. Its more of a TackkTackkTackk than a KnockKnock but I'm leaning towards a rod bearing given the glittery condition of the oil? My question is where do I go from here? Should I replace with a used engine? Or have the current one rebuilt? I'm guessing ebay is the best place to buy a replacement. Any recommendations on sellers? And does it have to be from an 08/09MY LEGACY? Or will an outback engine bolt up and work? I'm in massachusetts and haven't had any luck sourcing a local one. I'm not looking to make it a race car or put out 400HP I'd just like to make a nice reliable daily driver and save what is otherwise a gorgeous car from being scrapped. But without breaking my bank account in the process if possible, now I got the car via trade so I don't really have anything into it but the cost of the tow, so there's that. 

20231114_174630.jpg

Edited by 08LGTDGM
  • Like 1

• 08LGTDGM changed the title to I'm new to this, any pointers? 08 LGT Engine

This is what I would do.

Change the oil yourself and put in a new filter. Fill to spec.  Run it for 100 miles and then check to see if the oil still is glimmering.   You could also change the PCV as a precaution.