LegacyGT.com

Subie Newbie - seeking guidance

Hi everybody, I'm new here, grateful for whatever knowledge I can pick up

I'm not experienced under the hood, but I am somewhat handy in a wood shop, so I'm not useless when it comes to how things are built and how to work on things. I just haven't had a car in ages so no need. But...

...after more than 15 years of living in NYC and not having wheels, I scored a 2009 3.0 Limited in August that seems to have been well cared for. I love it. Fun to drive, well-appointed interior. All that. Anyone who's here knows the deal better than I do.

In the few months I've had it I've had to do a few things:

• radiator

• front/rear brakes and rotors

• front ball joints

Now I'm looking at tires. I've got 4/32 left on the previous owner's Michelin Primacy MXM4. They're upsized to 225/40, rather than the spec 215/45. I like the look obviously, and I guess some of the responsiveness is attributable to the upsizing, but I'm guessing there is loss in ride smoothness over sections of bumpy road. But I'm not sure how much.

Anyone have a sense of the smooth ride / responsiveness ratio? And secondarily, thoughts on good tires? I'm not a super aggressive driver. I have my moments when I push it for sure, but I don't need ultra performance. I'm looking for the sweet spot between performance/quietness/smooth-ride. So far the Continental Pure Contact LS and Nexxenn5000 Platinum have my eye, but I'm open. I've never bought tires before other than one off fix-a-flats on cars I didn't really care about. Any suggestions?