LegacyGT.com

2009 SpecB First Rebuild

Welcome to my beautiful disaster.

I'm new to subaru and turbo boxer engines. This is also my first engine rebuild EVER, on a subie.

Now for the horror story...

A month ago I picked up a clean body specB with 118k that had a timing belt kit done at 102k. I fell in love with the car the first time I drove it. On the way home I stopped to get gas and merging onto the on ramp the c clip that holds the shifter in popped out! WTF. Anyways I got lucky because I was .5 miles to a tire shop and they let me use a screwdriver to pop it back in. I was 100 miles away from the dealer. 200 miles into the trip back home I get a cruise control malfunction and cels. Knowing nothing about the car I called the dealer and he told me it's just the gas cap you can keep driving. I drove about 10 miles to the nearest O'Reilly to get codes checked. It was the p011 crankshaft position sensor. I kept going for about 100 more miles and get a loss of power going downhill, and then finally heard a rattle which sounds just like ball bearings.

At this point im stranded in the middle of nowhere waiting for the car to be towed back to the dealer. Luckily a friend of mine came along to keep me sane as we chilled in a rental. Come to find out a few days later the turbo failed. A new turbo was installed and car was shipped back to my house 600 miles from dealer for the inconvenience. After 2 weeks of waiting I finally got my baby back and was excited to drive. Reading the forums I read of all the horror stories of blown turbos taking engines with them. I decided to drive the car anyways and 600 miles later I get a rod knock!! FML. I was hoping I caught the turbo failure in time as I pulled over 2 miles after I heard the rattle. The tech who did the work was avoiding me and wouldn't send pictures of the compressor housing.