LegacyGT.com

What to look out for?

I'm a bit paranoid about my car because I desperately need it to not break. As a result, I get freaked out every time the driving noises change at all. What should I be looking out for though? What noises are indicative of a problem?

Info on you car would help

Year

Mileage

Model

Work history

Mods

With such little information I'll just say check your oil and don't drive like a teenager and don't forget search this forum is a great resource don't abuse it

I would (in hindsight of course) 1. buy the best model you can afford, 2. buy a comprehensive 3 year mechanical warranty, 3. service it regularly, 4. drive it like you stole it.

basically any noise that sounds like metal on metal "grinding" (ie: low/no lubricant) = bad.

Are moderate ticking noises ok? I'll try to get a video but it just sounds like the injectors firing or a lazy lifter. I'm new to the whole boxer game and was wondering if you other guys have slight ticking noises coming from your bay.

The ticking was one of the first things I noticed about my car after driving it home from the dealer for the first time. For me, I think it's most noticeable when I hold the throttle at around 2400rpm-2600rpm or so. I'll try and get a clip of my ticking later if you're unable to, and double check when it happens most for me.

Yeah, from my research here it seems to be a pretty common occurrence. I just like to have a lot of reassurance :)

Nothing wrong with that.

I'm hunting for a coolant drip now. I thinking it may be one of the new hoses on the new crossover pipe I installed last May.

Keep your ears and eye's open, these cars let you know when somethings not right.

305,600miles 5/2012 ej257 short block, 8/2011 installed VF52 turbo, @20.8psi, 280whp, 300ftlbs. (SOLD).  CHECK your oil, these cars use it.

Engine Build - Click Here

http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/reliability-modifications-178342.html?t=178342&highlight=reliability+modifications