LegacyGT.com

06 Legacy GT rough idle

I noticed the sound begin a few days ago, and it has not gone away since. The previous driver had it for 82000 miles and I just got the car less than a week ago. I was just coming to a stop sign in my neighborhood and heard the engine start to sound rough. (Definitely not just the "boxer sound". Sounds just a bit like a diesel but not as bad as when I had a blown head gasket on my old car)

Now it idles rough all the time, not so bad when the engine is "cold" (temperature-wise its warm out) but starts to sound worse once I've run it for a while. I also think I feel a bit of lag on acceleration some times. Owner said a compression test came out fine but maybe I should start there?

How in the world could I have done this within a few days of buying the car? I opened it up a bit on the highway but I certainly wasn't beating on it. And I'm still learning stick so I've made a couple clunky shifts but no grinding or anything crazy. More importantly what could the cause of the problem be? Oil and coolant as well as all other fluids look fine.

small head gasket leaks are sometimes undetectable when the car is cold but then when the engine is hot the thermal expansion opens up a leak.

Check to see if you're getting any smoke. what color is it? does it smell sweet? I'd also check your coolant level and monitor your oil consumption closely to see if there is anything strange going on there.

Clean the MAF sensor with the spray cleaner made to do that.

Oh learn to check the oil and top it off as needed, these cars use oil.

305,600miles 5/2012 ej257 short block, 8/2011 installed VF52 turbo, @20.8psi, 280whp, 300ftlbs. (SOLD).  CHECK your oil, these cars use it.

Engine Build - Click Here

I did blow a head gasket last time I had rough idle so I've been checking all fluids twice a day and everything seems normal.