LegacyGT.com

Test drived GT, moving from a BMW, comments (long)

Hello All, Now that my wait for a GT Limited is almost over (my specific specs car will be arrive in 2 weeks) I went to my dealer to get a taste of their non limited GT. My current car is a 2001 BMW 325 XI with the Sport group and modified suspension. I love my bimmer for the exception of the somewhat limited power the 2.5 delivers. It is a timeless design, it handles like nothing else mainly due to my upgraded suspension but also the body rigidity. I have to say that I was looking forward to my first drive of the GT, and was left with an aftertaste that was not exactly positive. I have been driving BMWs for the past 5 years and also have motorcycle and car racing experience, so my comments are based on my personal experiences. First, the test drive was of a Red GT 5MT. Although I would not buy Red, it does look much better than I though. As I am used to the BMW sports seats, I find that I did not have enough adjustments with the GT seats (bottom extension and angle), I also found that the seat was not long enough to my taste (BMW sport have an extensible seat length). The interior is very clean, I would even venture to say up to part with the BMW. The gauges are a very nice touch. Getting of the line was uneventful, standard pull. I was expecting more grunt and power down low, but again, I'm coming from an inline 6. Up the revs, shift in second and third without pushing, I was impress with the smoothness of the engine, but disappointed by the transmission, I believe it is normal for a Subaru transmission to be harder to slide in, a bit clucky and somewhat harsh, the bimmer offers a buttery but direct transmission. My area has great open roads as well as twisty and bumpy road, everything to test the complyhence of a car. I first hit the highway and floored the GT to see what this turbo engine could do. Not bad at all, but I was hoping for more, this car does not feel like a 250hp car, the car had 250k