LegacyGT.com

Thinking about getting a 96 Legacy by trade Audi

I'm currently driving a 235k miles 96 Audi A4 Quattro, It's a bastard to maintain although I do all the work myself (i'm forced to, can't afford no mechanic).

I've found a guy who want's to trade a 180k miles 5-speed 96 Legacy, perhaps for my car.

So I'm looking for something cheaper (partswise) to keep up and I'm asking you guys what you think about a Legacy for a pick. I know... it's still not going to be as reasonable as a honda or so, but I like the subarus...

Also, The more common question, what are the things to look for with this year model? Head gasket needs to have been changed as I understood... what are the other things?

Thanks

love the audis!

the only thing to check out of the normal pre-purchase check is any signs of rust on the fenders behind the rear tires, the cars are pretty prone to rust there..

if its a 5-speed, its not the 2.5l engine, so its either a brighton, L, or LS model, all 2.2L so headgaskets are more than likely a-ok, the 2.2 is pretty bulletproof

there was no option for a 5peed GT in 1996

at those miles it would of been filtered out on my car classified, way to high for my blood =P

BECAUSE if the car has stock suspension, its super bagged

Therefore if it hasnt been rigorously maintained its probably junk.

just go through regular stuff: clutch, recent body work, tires, suspension, any mods he's done, etc. the 2.2 is pretty solid, but if it has mlas they might tick like crazy. parts for subarus are everywhere, at least here in the northeast where every other car is an outback or legacy, and everything is pretty straightforward too. subaru eats through front cvs too, so just make sure it rides nice and there's no vibration from the front. Go for the subie, it has 50k less too which is something too look forward to. any pictures? :spin: