LegacyGT.com

Bargaining with the dealer: 08 vs 09 Spec B's

DavisTiger

08 Spec B vs 09 Spec B  

19 members have voted

1. 1. 08 Spec B vs 09 Spec B

• 2008 Spec B
    • 2009 Spec B

Okay so I am new to the whole dealer negotiation, since this will be the first BRAND NEW car I am purchasing. Any help would be appreciated!

I am currently about to purchase a 08 Spec B DGM. I am in Northern California and have talked the dealer to a price of $32,195. However, now I see that the 09 models have started shipping and I am really considering it. The Black color option is the most intriguing, the Harmon Kardon a second feature. I know I could get the car repainted and just buy the 08.

However talking with the dealer, gave me the idea that they will not reduce the price for the 08 even though the 09 is going to be the same price. I am currently qualified for 0% for 2 years and I plan on paying of the car in that time frame. However 0% vs 2.9%, for the features?

This is what the dealer said about the pricing for 09 vs 08

"You are correct, the car has not changed much for 2009 either. I haven't seen a 2009 Spec b yet, but if that is what you are looking for then I will keep my eye out for one for you. There isn't a rebate in the 2008, but the 2009 models are not eligible for special financing so you will not get the 0% that we have been discussing. No real price change for the 2008's as the 2009's are coming out, because as a dealership we still paid invoice for the car, and if the interest rate is not enough reason to go with a 2008 then you are probably better off getting a 2009."

That doesn't seem right to me at all. An 08 should not be the same price point as a 09 even if the dealer had to pay the same. That should be their fault for not being able sell the car.

Any opinions would be excellent and hopefully I will be able to buy a car this weekend ! :)

Seems like an easy decision to me.

Wait for the 09 unless there are some big incentives on the 08.