LegacyGT.com

3.0R in Legacy GT

Hi guys. I'm new to the car scene ( just got my license) and, with it, the modification deal. I drive a '05 Legacy GT and I was wondering what your guys thoughts were on an engine swap. More specifically, putting an Outback XT's 3 L in place of the 2.5 L GT one and whether it would be worth it or not.

Thanks for clickin' on this noob's topic.

-Rojo

yes you have 250 horse in both motors, but I think the H6 has less overall torque which is important too. I wouldn't do the swap. Much more worthwhile mods can be done on the 2.5 turbo motor. Also, suspension,brakes,exhaust mods can be done that would be more useful I think and more economical if you research carefully. Check the mods forum or do a search to find out more.

Welcome to the forums and enjoy, I learn something new here everyday.

For your car audio/video needs:D

Audio Crafters IS it.

In Pasadena Ca. Arthur rules.

www.audio-crafters.com

I posted my H6 dyno results on outback.org. Basically the whp is about 15% less than the 2.5 turbo motors. Only the 2006 have VVT and you'd be hard pressed to find a used one.

In the ROW the Spec B is the 3.0 with 6 speed manual. There's a great Fifth Gear segment about it versus a Volvo wagon on a racetrack.

Who Dares Wins

スバル

Have you driven the 3.0 H6 Outback? It's no slouch, but it isn't as immediate or torquey as the 2.5 Turbo. Drive one to see the difference.

Unless you plan to bolt a turbo on the H6, in which case, please do, take pictures, and share the dyno plots with us!:icon_mrgr:icon_mrgr:icon_mrgr

Ich bin echt viel netter, wenn ich nuechtern bin. Echt!

look up Red Beast's ride on this board. why go through all the hassle and expense of doing an H6 engine swap into a LGT sedan. just buy yourself a OB 3.0R Sedan, drop it, and you've got a Legacy Sedan with a widebody kit.

Yes what would be the point?

Youd be sacrificing 30 lbs of torque!