LegacyGT.com

Suspension noob - JDM rear sway bar?

jcole05

Just got my AP and, for the first time, am feeling that the body roll in my legacy is a bit too much. My car is a daily driver for me, so I'm just looking for a small upgrade to reduce body roll a bit.

After reading some threads, I was wondering if a JDM rear sway bar would be a good solution. Do you guys agree that this makes sense as my first, and maybe only, suspension upgrade?

I'm sure tires will be mentioned. I'd rather keep the RE92s, even knowing they suck, and get good tires once they wear out. If this is the case, should I just wait and get a sway bar then? Or will I still see some benefit from it even with crappy tires.

Finally, I'm a bit concerned about increasing oversteer a lot, because I'm by no means a professional driver and I want to keep some margin of "understeer" safety. Seems like a simple 20mm rear sway bar upgrade is pretty mild and just makes the car more neutral. Am I correct?

Thanks.

PS. Also feeling that the brakes are a bit mushy. Is the install for SS lines easy, or does it require a professional? Probably will upgrade pads as well, but need to search the threads for opinions about the best ones to get.

I was also leaning towards a rear sway bar as my first modification. Over the weekend i put i went to atlanta and put on 1000 miles and i realized that body roll needs to be reduced. fun trip though:icon_bigg!

Ummm, usually a stiffer rear sway bar INCREASES oversteer. A stiffer front will increase understeer! The car may track better but it still will oversteer.
"Belief does not make truth. Evidence makes truth. And belief does not make evidence."

Hey VTGT - Alexandria, VA to Atlanta was my first drive also, was also the way I got the break-in period out of the way in a hurry. Bought my car at Beyer Subaru in Alexandria (great guys up there, BTW) and drove it home to Atlanta.