LegacyGT.com

rear climate control vent hack

Hey Guys.

Newbie here. Pretty new to Subaru. I ordered my white Legacy but it's not here yet.

I got the Canadian "Touring" model, which is similar to the "premium" in the state. an upgrade to limited is going to cost 4000 bucks, not to mention the already inflated msrp for any cars bought in Canada.. (yeh, Canada prices suck)

I don't have the rear climate control vents, a feature which would be cool to have. I'm wondering if the air duct inside the walls of the center console are present regardless which trim levels it is.

Whether if it's even remotely possible to cut a hole in the center console and snap the vent on, so the rear passenger gets some air.

He's talking about these:

http://i1233.photobucket.com/albums/ff385/stfurtfm/ventholes_zpszodu6z9g.jpg

Should be possible.. here's a breakdown of the 2013/14 centre console and parts. Methinks your 2015 should be similar, but wait until the parts catalogs come out.

http://i1233.photobucket.com/albums/ff385/stfurtfm/ventholes2_zpsligts7ce.jpg

umm the pics didn't load. but i'm assuming that you know what i'm talking about.

Thanks!! this is encouraging. then I should wait before I plan anything.

I can see the pics nor with my iphone.

Maybe i dont even need to cut out and holes.

Just need to take out a piece if trim and see if the ducts are inside.

Replace if the ducts are already there !!

I can see the pics nor with my iphone.

Maybe i dont even need to cut out and holes.

Just need to take out a piece if trim and see if the ducts are inside.

Replace if the ducts are already there !!

I'm not sure if the vents are there are not. If they are, they're probably plugged, but then they might make noise if that's so, plugged vents, but I'm not sure as Subaru would do that.