LegacyGT.com

Builder questions for the experts.

As I have said before, I'm new to Subaru but not to building cars in general so I'm not a complete dummy when it comes to building/maintaining/replacing things.

I currently trying to get a build list together for a ej25 that I'm planning on swapping into my car. To give everyone a low down, I have a 2.2l with a 5mt in a 97 wagon right now. I was tossing around the idea of building a 2.2 hybrid with a 2.0 turbo top end on it but decided that if I'm going to be putting money into a motor I might as well get the one I have wanted in a Subaru since the first time I drove one.

My plan is to get a 2.5 off craigs or at the junkyard and tear it all the way down and rebuild it the way I want. I would ideally like to put about 250 at the wheels and I want to make sure I do it the right way so that I can still have a reliable motor at the end of the day. This car is a DD and the 2.2 will be staying in the car while I build the new motor so I can still drive it while I tinker on other things. The real question I have is what is the best way to go about getting 250whp out of this thing while still keeping it as reliable as possible with a turbo.

I have been looking at forged everything for the bottom end but I'm not sure if I need to be spending all that extra money if I'm not trying to push the motor to the max. Also what is the ideal compression ratio that I should be looking at when I put in new pistons. Just trying to compile a good build list so I can have an idea on my total costs. And is there a 2.5 that will be easier then others to put in my car/wire/do ECU stuff over another. Any help is appreciated and I'm sorry if a question like this has been asked in the past. (searched a bit but didn't come up with as much as I thought I would)

http://i921.photobucket.com/albums/ad54/blankdeluxe/KGrHqNoUFDCIENIZwBQ4Gb8Mm60_12_zps99364e41.jpg