LegacyGT.com

How much would you pay 2006 2.5i legacy with bad engine?

Im looking at a 2006 legacy, I think its a 2.5i. I am new to legacy's but i have 99 impreza rs. The guy sad it has a blown headgasket and the motor seized on him? It has 120k miles, body looks good and everything else looks good. So assuming it needs a new engine how much would be a good price to offer?

in good shape a 06 2.5i should be worth quite a bit more than that. In NY, when I bought my 06 in November bb retail was almost 13k, private party was 9.5

Current: 16 Crosstrek Premium w/ Eyesight & 05 Outback XT 5MT

Past Subies: 14 FXT Premium, 14 WRX hatch, 06 Legacy 2.5i SE 5MT, 98 Outback wagon

If the body and interior are in good shape i would offer $6.5K the Engine rebuild will cost you $2500 plus installation so $3700 on top of that.

If you found a running EJ253 from a wrecked 06+ Non Turbo: Impreza, Forester, OB, or Legacy, then you could offer low and spend less on engine issues and have yourself a nice little DD.

Are you looking to buy, fix and sell? The rebuild on the stock engine isn't that intensive you shouldn't need new pistons BUT if it seized you will probably need bearings and a crank ( I wouldn't machine it) as a new one is under $300 and machined cranks can sometimes be outside the FSM tolerances. The stock oil pump is more than sufficient for wider tolerances but you want this thing to hold up for 200K at least.

Stock bearings, crank,gaskets, rings, clean up the heads, new timing belt and water pump and BAM!

I would want the value after repairs to exceed what I put into the whole deal by at least a couple grand or more to make it worth my time. Otherwise I'd just buy a running car.

Same for me. The hassle of repairing and flipping a car around for a profit isn't worth it to me unless I'm really getting something out of it.

On a side note, did anyone see the American Top Gear episode where they try and "fix" and sell the Sub-$3K cars?