LegacyGT.com

I just finished a basic riders course this weekend and am going to take the official test this week. Now I'm torn between a 250cc and 500c sport bike. I'd love to get some input from some forum members. I've heard both recommendations from friends and still can't make up my mind. I have no experience other than the 2-day course I took this past weekend but I plan to spend alot of time in the neighborhood before I take it out on the streets. I will not ride at night, in the rain, or in rush hour traffic. My only plans for the bike will be to drive a few hours west of the city on Sat. and Sun. mornings to enjoy "hill country."

Any input is appreciated.

lol

"Hill Country" will in my eyes mean that you would very soon appreciate the larger engine.

250cc is good for commuting - especially in rush hour conditions where a small light bike is a lot easier to handle but for countryside roads a 500-800cc bike would be nicer.

I just realized that I really miss the XT500 I had...

453747.png

500-700ccs should be fine. Especially if it is a 2-cylinder with more torque, and less outright horsepower.

A bike like that won't be too intimidating, but will be something you won't outgrow so soon.

See if maybe you can find an SV650 or SV650S. a used 600-700cc base Ducati Monster is probably not too far off, either. Kawasaki had a 500cc parallel twin engine mini-ninja sport bike for a while, as well.

I'd probably get some miles before trying a full-on 600cc inline 4cylinder sport bike, though. They are more of an RPM light-switch. No revs, no power. High revs, LOTS of power for their size and weight.

Like the guys above, 2 cyl 500-750 is your best bet, used of course. I spent a year riding a 500 v-twin beater bike my friend had before getting my F4I.