LegacyGT.com

Subaru Sales up 41% for October 2009

SoldonSubie

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply
i think its more the mainstream redesign than advertising. theyve always had commercials and advertising campaigns. the difference is that they are marketing a more 'mainstream' vehicle for the North American masses. Bigger bodied sedans and alternative small & crossover suvs are whats in now. subaru, unfortunately for those of us who realize that their previous generation was much better (or at least much better looking), downshifted design gears and is now realizing higher rpms (sales). ill be happy if they use their newfound profit to mass produce the Trax Sti for public purchase

It's the mainstream design that got me to buy it. Mainly the larger size and AWD without the weight. I'm new to the fold so I'm not a sensative to the unpopular changes. But there are only a few choices in the AWD sedan category at the price point of the Legacy.

Without the AWD, I would have made another choice. That is probably why SOA worked towards a price point and cut in some areas so they could offset the AWD cost disadvantage.

I keep hearing about the uglification of the Legacy. But I hear that about half of the time when a car gets a major redesign. Then the eye and mind adjust and they look normal while the previous generation looks dated.

Guest heightsgtltd

It's a mix of the two. The design now appeals to everyman, and they are putting a little money behind the marketing.

Let's get real though, the 112% increase was from 1,538 to 3,254 :spin:

That's pretty legit for them! 112% is pretty big time (although the numbers of cars aren't that huge). let's get real... They made the cars bigger and now they are selling big.

Looks like at this rate we'll all be driving hummers in 25 years!

October sales for other low volume sedans

2009 vs 2008

+112.0% 3,254/1,538 Legacy

-20.3% 3,016/3,784 A4

-26.4% 2,975/4,040 Mazda6

-44.2% 2,512/4,340 TL

-07.5% 2,448/2,647 G37 Sedan