LegacyGT.com

Newbie+Upgrades = ?

Hello all,

I would like to introduce myself seeing as I'll hopefully be spending a great deal of time on this forum for the next few years. I'm a 21yo mattress salesman that has about 10-11 hours of downtime each and every of the 4 days I work a week, meaning I need to have something to burn time. I'm mechanically apt but I have never owned a Subaru or a turbo making me a newbie in need of some upgrades. Finally I recently sold my 1986 Prelued with a 2000 B20z bottom end and a VTEC head engine swap that had far more into it than any FWD truly deserves... That is me in a nutshell right now, that being said, hello all and I look forward to your help!

I now have a 05BP GT LTD 5-EAT (No idea if that is the proper canter) that is clean as a whistle, Just did a 60k and 105k service so all the filters, fluids, belts and plugs are fresh, it seems like the best starting point for my new project. I want to start upgrading it to get more performance while maintaining engine stability, ie as few blown turbos and bend valves as possible, here is where you come in. I need all your hardened subaru expertise to guide me from stock to road destroying ubersoob...

So please lend me your time and knowledge by posting what the most logical flow of modifications is, what the most beneficial are, if there are some that I should do in order to do others it would be greatly appreciated if it was noted, and what the overall gain is going to be for each step. I know it is asking alot but I have alot of time on my hands. Knowing costs, benefits, and good choices of basic upgrades like intercoolers, and exhausts is what I'll need the most at first. Things like injectors, turbos, blow-offs, I want and need the detailed info for but won't be able to start doing until I find a mech shop willing to let me work there for a nominal fee, hehe.

I really appreciate it and look forward to getting to know you all.