LegacyGT.com

Question About Hoods...

I haven't seen any coverage on this issue here, but I was wondering if there are any problems putting a scooped hood on, say, a 2.5i SE. I just like the look and needed to know if there are any measures I need to take with one on (I'm relatively new to this stuff). Thanks in advance.

Awesome, thanks for the info. I'll probably just buy an OEM and use that. Now, as for the mechanics of it all, how does rain factor into the opening? I know on the models that actually use the scoop, everything else is generally out of the way. Will that be something I need to take into consideration with my non-turbo, or will the water not really bother anything?

Yes.. a turbo. It's generally seen as rice to put a scoop where no scoop is needed.

Though, do what you like, it's your car. Personally I would be worried about water messing up the engine compartment. On GTs, the scoop directs air mostly over the IC, on a 2.5i it'll just go everywhere I would think.

the old impreza outback sports had hoodscoops, no turbo. as did a few other subarus. not a big old subaru fan so i dunno which ones..

putting a scooped hood on a nonturbo car is pretty low on the rice factor IMO... since subaru themselves did it.

once u throw in fake bovs and whistlers this becomes a problem..

car for sale. PM me!

the old impreza outback sports had hoodscoops, no turbo. as did a few other subarus. not a big old subaru fan so i dunno which ones..

putting a scooped hood on a nonturbo car is pretty low on the rice factor IMO... since subaru themselves did it.

once u throw in fake bovs and whistlers this becomes a problem..

+1, subaru put scoops on n/a cars for years

If you're looking to install just the scoop that are made for legacy's, this site has some good ones, but good craftmans ship is needed to correctly install it.

http://www.japanparts.com/db/maker.php?maker=Subaru