LegacyGT.com

Opinions on Clay Bar?

Are all the cool kids doing it? Does it really make a difference? I just picked up a kit and I'm gonna do ma car this week. What's the best wax to use when I'm done? I'm a total noob to this detailing game. Thanks much, guise.

Huge difference, especially if it hasn't been done in a while.

How much work do you want to do after cleaning?

One, two, three steps?

Want something that is really best for shine, or something a little less but lasts and protects much longer?

Klasse if you wanna go acrylic, All-in-One followed by Sealant.

Do it twice a year, and I just got asked if I waxed the car as well, first time I washed the car in about three months, hehe. The stuff lasts.

clay is magic; i follow up with wolfgang, but i would like to try AIO someday, as well.

...twice a year for me, too.

the back gets broken (because it's basically like doing 3 hand waxes back-to-back), but the results are stupendous ;)

Well I'm not a cool kid but I use it. It's absolutely amazing what it pulls out of your paint...you'll be in shock. As for being a noob, just wash it nicely (with like dawn, helps remove the old wax), clay the bad boy, then wash it once more to get all the residue off (use your typical wash mix here), then put a nice hand polish on it to give it a nice, smooth, finish, then follow it up with some good wax. Then you're set to go, not too much craziness involved there, basically 3 steps!

I just finished doing a 3 step detail on new SE last weekend.

If you want a lot of good info on wash/dry/wax/sealant/polish/glaze etc., I'd suggest http://www.autopia.org/. Tons of info.

The route I ended up going after some research went like this:

I bought this wash/dry kit http://www.properautocare.com/madewadrykit.html. Gave the care a good wash and dry then went at it with the clay bar.