LegacyGT.com

What do rolled fenders look like?

rosscarlson

Sorry if this is a stupid question, I'm very new to this. I just put a set of 245/45/17 tires on and with my K-Sport coilovers the front is rubbing like mad. Drove it only a few miles and it was shredding the outside edge of the tire if I went over even a small dip in the road. I want to run this size as I'm going to track my car often.

So I'm thinking I'll have to roll my fenders but what does that look like? This is my daily driver so I don't want to make a change that would make it look odd. Does anyone have any pictures of this?

Thanks,

Ross

You shouldn't be able to tell the fenders have been rolled if it is done properly... It's just the inside lip that gets rolled.

Why didn't you go with a 245/40-17? It would have been much closer to stock circumference (+.4% rather than +4.3%). I thought you were using spec.b 18" wheels?

The 245/45/17 were on special closeout at Tirerack, got a set of four for just over $200 after rebates, etc. Last time I bought them for my Z they were $225 a tire! (The Potenza RE-01r). I do have the 18" Spec.B rims but I'll most likely sell them as they won't fit over any of the big brake kits out there (I currently have the Wilwoods but am probably returning them for the Stoptechs, long story).

Ok, so no real visual difference then? If that's the case then great, I'll just get them rolled...

-Ross

you can also have them pulled alittle too. that will give you even more clearance but still look stock. I rolled my fender and pulled them alittle too, and im confident i can fit a 255 wide tire without rubbing now.

If you're going to be hitting the track that often, and have two sets of tires to burn through, increasing your front static negative camber will not only give you more fender clearance, but it will help with cornering and ironically enough, provide better tire shoulder wear.