LegacyGT.com

mod paths?

I'm somewhat new to Subaru tuning so I was hoping to get some ideas. What are the typical mods for people trying to keep a quiet ride but still enjoy a little added power and some tighter handling. Basically what are the mod paths that people recommend for a daily driver?

stage 2 is good for power. if your uppipe has a catalytic converter, remove that by getting an uppipe without, or by physically removing the cat in the uppipe.

then get a downpipe with 1 or both of the cats missing. then all that's left is an engine map reflash.

tighter handling: new tires. some people will direct you straight to sway bars but i'd say nice set of premium coilovers.

braking: u'll want some better braking as well. the tires should take care of a lot of the braking, then if you want more get pads and stainless steel brake lines.

my path was stage 2 then brembo big brakes and KW coilovers.

car for sale. PM me!

Hilarious handle and avatar.

If quiet really is a priority, you might want to just focus on the tires and access port. Suspension work that increases handling will often decrease ride comfort, and exhaust work that will eventually increase power will also likely lead to some extra decibels. Brakes are a good place to go, though - hawk hps pads will dramatically increase brake response, I hear.

Stage 2 power with some suspension and brake mods are a great way to go for a daily driver.

Get a good DP, and engine reflash for power.

Suspension upgrades could consist of springs, sways or a complete swap to coilovers or Bilsteins. Lots of information on the options in the suspension section.

Brakes could be as simple as upgrading your pads. +1 for an upgrade to Hawk HPS pads.

Good luck.