LegacyGT.com

Detailing: Explain Claying, polishing and waxing please?

Warning:

This may be a complete noob post...with lots of dumb questions. Some issues i was able to resolve after reading info but questions still linger.

This started from the questions in this thread:

http://www.legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61258

I read this stuff and other threads and i honestly am a little confused. It did, however make me realize i am doing a complete sh*tload of a job waxing my car and thinking i accomplished a ginormous task that i was really proud of.

I never have clayed it. Honestly i had to read about it on the ocdetails site. I can't picture it because i didn't even know what it was. From reading the stuff here and on the ocd i got the sequence right:

1. WASH

2. CLAY (Please read OCDetails.com here for all about claying)

3. WASH AGAIN

4. POLISH

5. WASH AGAIN

6. APPLY WAX OR (BETTER) SEALANT.

Now why am i confused? read on...

1. WASH

I use Eagle one car wash liquid. I like it because i just spray droplets and it works up some serious foamy soap and i love how it picks up the dirt and grit and what not. I hope this sh*t is approved by people... is it?

2. CLAY

Well no question other than i need to put it on and clean up all the stupid wax that i repeatedly put on it for weeks. OCdetails link above helped to explain why this is so important.

3. WASH AGAIN

..seems straighforward - just use as much soap to make sure the clay lube is gone. I believe the sign of successful wash is if the paint is dry and you don't see oily patches correct?

4. POLISH

This is my BIGGEST confusion...so

a. Does car have to cool and dry at this time?

b. I do need a machine for this? I have a little simoniz rotary wax applicator/buffer thingy. Many people suggest Porter cable.

c. What to use as a polish...is there a brand of polish or are we talking about using some kind of applicator on the machine and that's it?

d. Do we let it dry or buff or what?

5. WASH AGAIN