LegacyGT.com

05 STGII Manual LGT vs 06 STGII 5EAT LGT

srgdrum

Me and my pal TUNED200 went to the track today for a few 1/4 mile runs and I have to say I'm a little concerned about my 5EAT's performance.

While I'm an admitted total novice (first time ever at the track) my best time was 14.63. TUNED spanked me with a best of 13.30 My God, the dude LEFT me.

I was shocked.

We both have about the same mods. Both TDC off the shelf tunes. He has an AEM intake and I have a Perrin drop in. I think that and the tranny's are the only differences. Actually he has an aftermarket BOV too...

I brake boosted to about 3 grand even. My fastest pass was in sport mode letting the car shift itself.

Damn he smoked me!

Does this seem like an appropriate outcome for this? I know he's gonna be faster 'cuz I got the slushbox but I wasn't expecting nearly a second and a half faster.

My 60 time was terrible and his were better but it didn't account for that huge time difference.

Any input would be welcome!

Thanks!

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hot damn! A 13.3 sounds right for a S2 5MT - and if you brake boosted, well, you did all you could.

We could argue about this all night, but if you look at one of my 1st posts here - it was expressing my disappointment with the 5EAT. It was just bland and boring. I guess I was at the time driving a 4EAT supercharged Grand Prix that ran a 13.8 (even if only FWD) - and the LGT was just sad. I mean, i never would have bought it. Next dealer had a 5MT in stock, and hooked form then on.

I'm pleasantly surprised... It was most certainly worth the couple bucks and 10 mins of my time.

CLICK HERE FOR THE HOGZAUST

Does slow reaction time play any role here in these times? Curious to what the temp is also.

It should have been at least a 13.99 with such an aggressive launch at stage 2 levels :/

What were the conditions????

My best time back when the VF40 was still on the car was a 13.29 @ just a hair over 103mph.