LegacyGT.com

Finally took a test drive

warrior325

So I went to the dealer tonight and test drove a 2006 LGT 5MT demo with 5k miles on it. I'll tell you guys right away that I wasn't gunning it cuz well i'm not that good with stick yet. Was taking it easy, don't think I really pushed it past 4k RPMs at any point... but it definately had the power when needed.

First thoughts... the car is very comfortable, smooth shifting, quiet on the road no matter how fast we went (didn't go past 70) and the power is always there, but I really expected more kick. After some highway driving I pulled over and let the salesman drive back, but this was a young guy no older than maybe 25 and I told him... show me how this car should be driven. This guy just took off, pinned me to the seat and before I knew it he was going 80. I was really impressed with the power and the way it handled. He was passing cars left and right and the car stayed right on track... didn't feel it swaying or anything.

Here's one thing that bothered me about it though, I really expected to feel more power, or at least be pinned to the seats more. I feel like I get pinned to the seat harder in my friends stock RX8 and this car is faster than that car. But i'm not going to complain cuz well it's plenty of power for anyone, no matter how you look at it.

Overall I was VERY impressed with the vehicle. I'm still going to test drive the Mazdaspeed6 before I make any decisions, but I have a feeling i'll be owning a LGT very soon.

Mash the gas pedal at 3500rpm at any gear and you will feel a rush of power.

I test drove the Mazda3 before buying the LGT. Really fun and sporty car, but I really wanted AWD.

Also, be aware the MazdaSpeed6 is FWD unless the tires loose grip, then transfering a little power to the rear wheels....not a true AWD system.. and in my biased book should be stayed away from.

enough zip ties and duct tape will fix anything.