LegacyGT.com

fishtail - keeping rear end in line

scottmcphee

I'm new to AWD and the Legacy is kinda reminding me of my dad's 1982 Ford LTD wagon.. rear wheel driver, of course. Put that thing in a ditch or two in the winter.

I've got a 2.5i MT wagon.

Is there a recommended reading thread for driving tips for this beastie to keep it from breaking free and swinging out on the rear end??? Very bad on corners. And / or is there is a recommended suspension / wheel / tire tweak to help with this little problem, I'm all ears.

It's like the ratio of power could be dialed up more on the FW and less on the RW and I'd be happier.

They say it is 50/50 split AWD all the time for the MT.. right? <Maybe 60/40 front/rear would have been a better choice?>

Scott

Re92? :hide:

Tires on my 2006 2.5i wagon, shipped to western Canada in January 2006 are: Yokohama Advan A82 tires. These are 17" on mags.

Pressure (just checked) is kept in tolerance of specs, 34 front, 33 rear. (This is actually 1 lb over for each tire above the sticker rating on the driver's side, but I don't trust this guage by 1 lb.. so)

I guess the best advice has been said above "don't go into the corner too fast". That is pure good sense, for any car. It's just that on FWD (what I'm used to for the last 20 years) handling so neutral that using a little gas going into and on corners can pull the front end to where you'd wish the car would be and the rear would follow. On the Subie, using gas in these same circumstances just turns up the "wild" knob.

I was wondering if somebody has figured out some sweet combination to help with this.. you know, something like "dial the pressure down on the front 4 lbs, stiffen the front sway bar, put 2 sandbags above each rear wheel". Wishful thinking that's all.

Scott

after auto xing this weekend i can get the rear to turn around very nicely. Just brake while going into a turn and the rear end will come right around for ya, setting u up a little better for the turn.