LegacyGT.com

pros and cons of 17 Vs 18

okla7788

Hi, I am new to tingering my car.

I am considering getting a new set of wheels and tire for my LGT 05.

After reading the FAQ on wheel size by Xenonk i am confuse as to the pros and cons of the different size wheels/tires

I am hoping to get a bit more grip in corners.

It appears that smaller the wheel/tire the faster you can accelerate and more torque. (205/40/17 are described as superfast) So why would anyone want a larger wheels/tires? I must be missing the point here.

What about the overall weight of the wheel/tire combo. The weight of the wheels are often listed. How about the weight of the tires. How would the weight of 215/45/17 compare to weight of 225/40/18?

Thanks in advance for your help

Do not forget "bling" effect!

If I am not mistaken one car magazine did 17 vs 18 comparo and 18 buys you more expensive tires and heavier wheels.

Krzys

PS My only reason would be brake clearance but I suspect I would need second set of wheels and brakes for winter (maybe a whole winter car ;-)

Remember that larger wheels will throw off your speedo. You will possibly increase your top speed a bit with larger wheels, but with larger wheels, comes more weight and more power to turn.

Personally, a 17 inch wheel with the 215/45-17 tires are a perfect combination for performance and reliability in all weather. You can still get a really aggressive snow tire or all season tire without selling any organs.

If you are in an area where it never snows, then an 18 inch wheel may be best, otherwise, I think the 17s are perfect.

Remember that larger wheels will throw off your speedo..

Not true.. you can use the plus sizing method to retain the same speedo reading.. what you will be sacrificing is the sidewall height of your tires..