LegacyGT.com

Hey all, I’m a teacher- so I’m off for the summer. I’ve been losing coolant at an alarming rate, so I’m looking at pulling the engine this summer.

Just a few questions for anyone who’s successfully completed the job.

1) I’ve done the timing belt- so how difficult is the head gasket job comparatively?

2) I’m assuming, from everything I’ve read, that I need to pull the engine. I’ve never pulled an engine before. While it’s out, I’m looking at replacing rear main seal and all that jazz as well. Are there any kits that anyone recommends for these gaskets/seals? I know Felpro for the head gasket.

3) I haven’t overheated to my knowledge. I know that you always want to machine the heads, so does anyone know of any good machine shops in SWFL? I’ve been searching and nothing to show for it- so I was just wondering if anyone has any experience.

4) lastly, I know there are a ton of videos on the matter- but I was wondering if anyone has made a write up.

Thank you for all of your help!

Welcome to the site! I'm never shooting us in the foot, but I would also spend some time at subaruoutback.org there is a LOT more info on the 2.5i NA platform than here, where the focus is very much on turbochaged engines.

There is a write up here somewhere. Google site search here is far better than using the build in serach function. I'll see if I can dig that up. It was pretty in depth, and possibly more work than needs to be done.

1 - It's a lot more work, but if you have a good tool chest and time (you said you have time) then it's totally reasonable. Remembering that you're opening the engine, so cleanliness become paramount now. Thing I learned the hard(sish) way, you'll save a lot of time later if you wash the engine thoroghly in the engine bay with the accessories off, then again when it's on the engine stand before removeing the heads etc.. 2.5i is MUCH easier to do a head gasket job than the EJ255/7 Just less junk in the way.