LegacyGT.com

Hello all, I've got an 03 L sedan with the 5 speed manual. It seems like the synchros on 1st and 5th are going out and there's a vibration on 3rd and 4th above 3500 RPM. I'm pretty new to subaru and to large mechanical jobs and need some advice. What would a guy need to replace the transmission at home? 

Thanks!

Edited by GrendalSmith

When I did mine (1995) at home I pulled the engine out with my engine hoist and then pulled the trans out from above.  I chose this method mainly because I was working on gravel and didn't have a transmission jack nor a pit or a lift, also because I was doing a 250,000 mile refresh so was going to do stuff to the engine anyway.

If you have cement to work on and a safe way to lift the car about 2 feet I would get a trans jack and do just that from underneath.