LegacyGT.com

noob to soob's.... could use your help with bad engine!

Hey y'all:

I'm new here. I've been perusing with the search feature, but so far I haven't found everything I'm looking for. I'll keep looking, but maybe some of y'all can help a brother out? :-)

My daughter's '08 Legacy AWD with the 2.5L overheated on her this weekend. She pulled-over to find "smoke coming out of the hood". By the time I got to her, about 30 minutes later, the temp gauge was back down in the "normal" range, but no-start. So I had it towed.

Today I pulled the spark plugs on the right-side (passenger) of the motor; using standard methodology, I've got ZERO compression in either hole. Now, the caveat about the methodology is because I'm new to subaru's, so if there's something odd about doing a compression-check, I don't know about it. I find it to be pretty weird to have ZERO compression.

So then I put a borescope in, and there's clearly been coolant in the rear-hole. Probably the front as well, but the rear hole looks like it was being steam-cleaned, haha. I can see the valves moving in the periphery of the scope-view.

So here's the burning questions:

1) How common is ZERO Compression for this motor from just a head-gasket? Am I looking more at a cracked sleeve or something? (And there's no Subaru magic involved in this comp. check, right?)

2) I'm a better-than-average backyard-mechanic, but I've got two other projects occupying my garage space at the moment. Assuming this IS a headgasket failure, how fast will this project go in the driveway? Can I do this without removing the motor?

3) The car has around 150k miles on it: what's on the "Must-Do-While-In-There" list?

Thanks everyone.

I'll continue to search around, but some help and direction from y'all with experience would be greatly appreciated!

20181120133330.thumb.jpg.1a1948058d457d22256492843051ba9e.jpg

Welcome to the Forum, here's the service manual, http://people.csail.mit.edu/ilh/vacation/