LegacyGT.com

New driver, messed up a few times- bad?

I am a new driver and being, well a new driver, i have done some stupid things and i was wondering how bad they are to my car and if they caused any permanent damage.

- I accidentally went into Neutral on a highway going about 60mph but quickly got out

-put my foot on the gas in park and it just got up to the red mark on the rpm meter, but i quickly took my foot off (obviously)

i am sure there are more i just can't think of any right now, and yes i now what i did is stupid lol, but hey it all happned in my first day, except the neutral incident which happned on the 6th day.

Guessing since you went into park, you have an automatic. None of the things you did are detrimental. Things that may be detrimental are powerbraking (foot hard on brakes AND foot revving engine.. then you let go and launch--this is how ppl w/ automatics drag race) to name one.
-ben

To be honest Im more than 100% sure that you didnt cause any harm. Just be mindful of what you are doing and you will be fine. One thing about Subaru is that they build pretty bulletproof machines UNLESS you hammer them every chance you get.

Just stick to the maintenance programs that Subaru asks you to stick to and you should be golden. If you need anything answered, just do a search, if u cant find it in search, ask away.

Im sure than sure that myself and axis008 wont have any problems with you sending a PM if you get stuck.

All the best.

Ada///M.

I am a new driver and being, well a new driver, i have done some stupid things and i was wondering how bad they are to my car and if they caused any permanent damage.

- I accidentally went into Neutral on a highway going about 60mph but quickly got out

-put my foot on the gas in park and it just got up to the red mark on the rpm meter, but i quickly took my foot off (obviously)