LegacyGT.com

Need exhaust help!!

hello im new here and i came here for help. my name is Floyd and i drive a 2009 subaru legacy 2.5i special edition 5 speed manual. my birthday is coming up and i am going to want to get a new exhaust for my car but i do not know what to look for exactly. i am new to subarus so idk what to look for exactly. like will the gt exhausts fit or will they not. what will sound the best or will give me the most power or easiest to put on. i just need help so if you can help private message me or reply here. THanks in advance:)

Welcome to the forum.

The GT exhaust is different then a 2.5i.

You may find that the mid pipe back may be the same, try looking for the part numbers on a dealers website under Parts. Most dealers have a online ordering for OEM parts.

305,600miles 5/2012 ej257 short block, 8/2011 installed VF52 turbo, @20.8psi, 280whp, 300ftlbs. (SOLD).  CHECK your oil, these cars use it.

Engine Build - Click Here

Like Max said I am pretty sure that stock exhaust from the midpipe back is the same from a GT to a N/A 2.5i. My 2008 2.5i was in bad need of a replacement midpipe (the rear pipe with "Y" split) due to rust at the Y. I was not looking for any upgrade or change in sound just a more or less stock replacement. I posted on a local Facebook Legacy GT club page asking if anyone had a stock take off they would be willing to part with. Ended up picking up a decent stock midpipe and two good mufflers for $20.

There are aftermarket kits but I am unsure of their quality.

Oh, and as for replacement over the counter parts I can tell you that the midpipe/Y-pipes they have listed for a Legacy they will fit but since it is made to fit the Outback as well the "Y" section where it goes underneath the rear diff hangs at least an inch lower and looks goofy on a Legacy.