LegacyGT.com

Snow Handling (LGT)

Much of the handling in the snow will depend on the tires you have on the car. The tires are, IMHO, the achilles heel of the car. Certainly, the Subie's AWD will help considerably and if you have never had an AWD vehicle before, you are likely to notice a big difference because of that alone. However, the RE-92s are an all-season tire and not a particularly good one at that. So, if you replace them with another, better, all-season tire, that will likely improve performance. If you go with a dedicated winter tire, that will improve performance even more.

There are many threads devoted to tires here. If you decide to replace tires, do a search, and you will learn alot that will help you make a good decision.

Good luck and enjoy.

EDIT: for more on the RE-92s in the snow, click here.

05 SWP Legacy GT Limited (aka "Pearl")- 5MT AP - Stage 2 Protuned (238/284) - wife driven

07 BMW 335xi

forgive my ignorance for i am new to the AWD world but i think i may have an idea why it is bad to pull the hand brake to slide but would like to confirm it so please explain why it is a bad idea.

forgive my ignorance for i am new to the AWD world but i think i may have an idea why it is bad to pull the hand brake to slide but would like to confirm it so please explain why it is a bad idea.

When you pull the handbrake, the parking brakes on the rear wheels will try to lock up the rears. This is great for FWD to get the car to spin, but your AWD center differential will bind and cause all sorts of grief in the drivetrain.

Unless you have an STI, which apparently opens the center diff when the handbrake is pulled. Cool, eh?