LegacyGT.com

Washing My Car

I plan on washing my car myself very soon. Going to start by clay barring it. But I'm new at this. Is there an order I should do things? I want to wax it after also. Can someone provide a list of things they do and stuff I need. I currently have nothing..

Sent from my LG-ls990 using Tapatalk

There's a lot to detailing your car. I actually did mine all by hand because I don't have a buffer yet and it's a workout.

JLGT pretty much covered it.

I'd honestly watch videos online. There's a lot of tips and tricks to it. Of course use the two bucket method. Make sure you rinse REALLY well after that. Get some good chamois for drying. Atleast two of them. The Absorber XL I found works really well. Mother's Clay bar is what I would get because it comes with the clay lube spray. Also Griots Clay works well but doesn't come with the spray. They have some nice products. If you drop the bar on the ground, toss it. The dirt and whatever it picks up will scratch your clear coat. There's lots of videos to using clay.

After that, there's the polishing, then waxing, then I'll usually use the quick detail once over. NUMBER ONE RULE. YOU NEED LOTS OF MICROFIBER TOWELS. I'm not kidding. Go to the Dollar Store. I've found 5 packs there and they're basically the same thing you get at Advance Auto, etc but cheaper. You'll easily go through 10 of them.

Put aside a good 4 hours if you don't have a buffer to do it with. There's pads you can use that are pretty much full proof but I've yet to use one yet. I'd definitely have someone teach you how to use it.