LegacyGT.com

Hardwire Lights

I am a volunteer firefighter and am giving up on using a splitter for the cigarette plug to plug my lights into. I have 3 that all are LED so have a low draw. I am in the process of building a switch box that I will mount that will have a master switch and a switch for each individual light. The only problem is I do not know where to get the power from. Is there a power supply easily accessible in the center console or under the driver/passenger seat? Is there an easy way to access the power supply to the 12V outlet in the center console? I could just use a quick-splice on it because that supports the load now without any issues... I suppose I could run straight off the battery and put an in-line fuse in...

Thanks!

Chris

• Moderators

Use a bussman add a fuse--you can pick one up an any autoparts store and just tap into the fusebox.

EDIT: keep in mind that i am electrically-semi-retarded. However, this is what I did for my wideband O2 sensor and it was easy enough and worked great.

"Bullet-proof" your OEM TMIC! <<Buy your kit here>>

Not currently in stock :(

If you want to get technical and run a power wire from the battery to a new fused power block, take off the plastic front drivers side wheel well and you'll find the rubber grommet that goes into the cabin with a large group of wires. You will find there are gaps and holes in the fender that lead right to the battery making for a sleek install right under your dash to power those and any future power supplies. That's how I routed my boost gauge tubing. Can't even tell its there.

Is there a power supply easily accessible in the center console or under the driver/passenger seat? Is there an easy way to access the power supply to the 12V outlet in the center console? I could just use a quick-splice on it because that supports the load now without any issues...