LegacyGT.com

Newbie to Subaru Tuning....

LJH

Hello All,

I am a total newbie to turbo charged Subaru's but have been driving turbo'ed Audi's for some 25 years so I probably know just enough to be dangerous. My wife and I just bought a '08 OBXT 5MT with 32K on the clock. One of the most glaring issues I see with the car is its drivability. The turbo seems to take ages to spool (3K+ RPM) and when it does it feels like the boost controller is always playing "catch up" and is not really smooth in its transitions. On my past Audi's, especially our old '02 S4 (Stage 1.5=ECU Tuned, de-catted down pipes, stock exhaust) the motor felt like it had much more displacement and you really did not get the "rush" as the turbos spooled and to be honest it was really hard to tell the car had turbos, the torque curve was quite flat from 1750RPM through redline.....this is not the case in the XT.....

So, being a motorhead I am investigating ways to improve the XT drivability and performance, and reliability...in my searching it also looks like many aftermarket tunes are actually safer for the motor than Subaru's stock tune. In the Audi world you just pulled your ECU and send it off to the tuner of your liking, a few days later you receive your ECU back and enjoy your new found power. With the Subaru it looks like you can do a OTS tune VIA the Cobb access port or e-tuning. I have never done anything like e-tuning before but I am interested in seeing how difficult this is and if this is an option for me. Here are my objectives for doing this:

-Better Drivability-smoother spool, smoother boost ramp, smoother transition on and off boost.

-Increased reliability- Seems the Subaru tune runs lean, this scares me as our car spends a lot of miles on the highway and sees a lot of full throttle, lower RPM boost....think over taking scenario.