LegacyGT.com

questions on trans swap..5eat to ?.....

locolgt2.5

Sol im new to this site and the subaru world, i recently bought a Great 2005 legacy gt for really really really cheap, the blue kelly book value was over 13k and i got it for 8k from a friend of mine before it got re-poed, now the million dollar question is ive always owned manual cars and this is the first auto. Is there any other trans that is able to bolt on to the legacy 5 eat, like a 6 speed and arround how much would i be looking at to do, not myself but at a shop, im asuming it would be a lot of work involed to do this. or should i keep the auto and just upgrade it, would it be reliable for arround 400 whp? im new to this stuff and ive been reading alot and still havent found a good answer, thanks for the feed back...

The best thing you can do is ready in this forum and do the valve body upgrade that climberD had made.

From what I've heard, it's not possible to swap to a 5 or 6 speed and have everything work.

305,600miles 5/2012 ej257 short block, 8/2011 installed VF52 turbo, @20.8psi, 280whp, 300ftlbs. (SOLD).  CHECK your oil, these cars use it.

Engine Build - Click Here

^^^ Is not impossible. You can do whatever you want and make it work. In the context of the OP's question, he is asking just a bolt on manual transmission. I am assuming he does not want to invest all the money associated in converting from auto to manual.

Just converting from the 5 speed to the 6 speed is lots of money and work. People here have done it, and it is in the thousands of dollars.