LegacyGT.com

Purchasing a 97 Legacy Outback

I am buying a 97 Legacy Outback AT from a buddy of mine this Monday.

This will be my first Subaru, I have been driving a S10 chevy truck since 1991.

My buddy has owned the Outback and driven it for about 30,000 miles

It now has 155K

I am not sure what the previous history of the vehicle is

He purchased it from a Subaru dealer, so I guess it was a trade in.

He has changed the oil and filter with synthetic religiously at 4000 miles and had the dealer service it a couple times.

Valve cover gaskets were done for some reason, probably chasing the oil leak mentioned below.

I purchased a Haynes manual on Amazon. Should be here soon.

I have been looking at all the head gasket videos on Youtube.

I checked out the stickies at the top of the board

I will be going over the vehicle when I get it.

I do know that it has an oil leak and I am thinking that it may be the separator plate, and it may have a plastic plate.

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ByYR4asTnjQ]Subaru Separator Plate - YouTube[/ame]

Anywho, I am looking for a general To-Do list of things to go over on the Outback.

I am pretty sure I need to dig in and have a look at the timing belt, idlers and water pump.

Other than that, can anyone chime in with other things I should look out for?

Thanks so much

• I Donated

They Haynes book as well as the factory service manual (there is a link in the Engine FAQ thread for it) should be all the instructions for DIY you will ever need.

When I first get a car, I usually flush all the fluids. If the car has over 75k miles on it, I do a timing belt as well...unless i know for sure that its already been done.

-broknindarkagain

My Current Project - Click Here

COME AND TAKE IT

"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing."