LegacyGT.com

I need a tuning crash course

Kodax

As the title suggest, I am completely new to tuning. I need a quick crash course in tuning a legacy.

I am gonna get a local tuner to tune my car and he is also on this forum. However, he has never tuned a 3.0r before. So I want to educate myself as much as possible before I pull the trigger and tune my car. It isn't because I don't trust the tuner but I do not want to blame the tuner if something goes wrong. I want to know what I am getting myself into.

The engine mods that I will be doing would be KN filter and AEM CAI. I am also gonna get a tune for my 3.0r. I know I probably won't be netting a lot of gains compared to the LGT. But I don't really care.

I know in general, tuning a car is just remapping the car to match the mods of a car and the current parameter (eg. gas, altitude) of the car. However, with a change of new environment (eg. higher altitude, higher octane gas, thinner air), would it cause the car to throw an engine light?

Go over to the Romraider forum and download Bad Noodle's tuning guide. That's as good a place to start as any.
Obligatory '[URL="http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/2008-gh8-238668.html?t=238668"]build thread[/URL]' Increased capacity to 2.7 liters, still turbo, but no longer need spark plugs.

In your case you'll basically be rescaling the maf and related compensation tables to account for the change in intakes while keeping a smooth as possible cruising region.

As for getting more power, you'll be looking to lean out the fuel a bit in the higher rpms, and adding timing where possible. You won't really get anywhere with the timing without a dyno, and you shouldn't tweak the fuel without a WB02 sensor.