LegacyGT.com

2010 LGT 5EAT to STI 6mt problem!?

justune

total noob here and checked some 6mt swap thread

my local tuner told me about the difference between the new LGT and old

found the different design makes it difficult to swap the STI 6mt(in fact, they told me it's impossible!!)

is this true!??

and what's the best choice for bigger HP solution (400+whp)

thanks !!

thanks for the reply

I have read about Rick's conversion

but still want to know the different design from the 10 LGT is the hard part for swap

maybe is the 05~09 LGT's mt design is differente from the 10 LGT??

i thought the 10 lgt was only avaliable 6 mt

The new 6MT is closer to the 5MT than the STi/Spec-B 6MT. It's a good transmission for fuel economy, but a bad one for almost any other use.

Swapping I'll be troublesome. The crossmember pickup points all changed, so you'd need a custom transmission crossmember at the very least. The engine still has the same bell housing, so the transmission should physically bolt up. I believe the hole in the car for the shifter is completely different, so you might have to cut, grind, and weld for that to work. A driveshaft would be a custom affair, I think. But maybe not. A CVT driveshaft might just be the right part.

Can it be done? For sure. Is it going to be plug and play like the old cars? Almost definitely not.

But good luck!

[URL="http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/proper-flip-key-interesti-159894.html"]Flip Key Development Thread[/URL] "Genius may have its limitations, but stupidity is not thus handicapped." - E. Hubbard

yea but as the title says 5eat to 6mt.

i guess because the sti 6mt is too noisy for the old fogies buying up lgt's

Now that's thinking out of the boxer!:lol:

fyi all 05 + legacy's have built in code reader

Woah, I didn't see that. So he either has an H6, doesn't live in the US, or doesn't have a 2010 after all.

The 6MT in the STI is really noisy. Far too noisy and jerky for "luxury" cars.