LegacyGT.com

Newbie with a problem.

Hey legacy drivers. Little bout myself so you can get a bit of my background and what i can do.

The car i am here for is my mothers 97 Legacy GT Wagon. (2.5L)

As i am sixteen and the car has only been in the family for 5 years and it's not mine, I have little to no experience under the hood of the vehicle.

The Mechanics say the "Check Engine" light is bugged... suuuure

in Low RPM the exhaust rattle's like you wouldn't believe. and it takes about 5 seconds at full throttle to reach 60km/h.

once the Tach hits about 3500-4000 it quiets right out and lunges forward with power. then shifts to second at 5000-5500 (depends on the car's mood i guess)

OH and the horn is a button... why because the mechanics went into the steering column and replaced some metal bracket or something but they couldn't replace the horn. So now you can pound on the wheel and nothing happens...

My father and I believe that the mechanics screwed up the electronics in the wheel causing some form of short. I trust you guys more than the mechanics. They just put a new part on call it fixed and nothing really changes except moms bank account.

I'll post some pics. If you wonder about the hood not having a scoop, ma had a minor accident and got the hood replaced. but bought a non scooped one.

Thanks I really wish i could get this thing back to running order. I'm also doing body work on her atm.

http://i387.photobucket.com/albums/oo318/Szustygesto/IMG_0146.jpg

http://i387.photobucket.com/albums/oo318/Szustygesto/IMG_0145.jpg

The horn can be seen As the push button beside the fog lights.

http://i387.photobucket.com/albums/oo318/Szustygesto/IMG_0147.jpg

I am leaning towards spark plugs, spark plug wires, fuel filter or injectors. What is the code the car is throwing. If you take it to an autozone and they will pull it for free. Post the code and that could pin point the problem much better