LegacyGT.com

Painting my new front bumper tomorrow, suggestions?

i have a fairly nice OBP mixed at a local company, i have some painting experience but not with black, Its a 6 year old paint job and im not blending the other panels right now, does anyone have any comments or suggestions?

one question im mulling over is 2 or 3 coats of clear, if I make it too deep will it detract from the other panels and make it more noticeable?:spin:

will take pics as the process moves along.

Two coats is more than enough. When it is really dry wet sand and buff. That is what gives it the best finish, specially on black. Gets rid of all the orange peel that I am sure you will get. I stopped painting about a year ago, but soemtimes I was able to lay clear on black so perfectly that it did not need wet sand and buff. Those were rare times though.

GL

X

---

Do 3 coats, especially if you use cheaper clear (low solids). What is going to happen is you will clear coat it and then you won't be pleased with it (orange peel, bugs, dirt) and you will wet sand it then you will buff it. When you wet sand and buff it it will take off quite a bit of clear. Chances are you might break through into base coat and will have to redo it.

If you need any further advice on bodywork/paint feel free to pm me. I'll try my best to answer your questions. Been doing bodywork/paint for ~12 years.

Do 3 coats, especially if you use cheaper clear (low solids). What is going to happen is you will clear coat it and then you won't be pleased with it (orange peel, bugs, dirt) and you will wet sand it then you will buff it. When you wet sand and buff it it will take off quite a bit of clear. Chances are you might break through into base coat and will have to redo it.

If you need any further advice on bodywork/paint feel free to pm me. I'll try my best to answer your questions. Been doing bodywork/paint for ~12 years.