LegacyGT.com

Clutch time Need Help

So I'm still a newbie in the Subie camp. I have an 06 LGT Stage 2 with a slipping clutch. Ugh..

Not sure what's in my car, as I bought it with mods and I've never known what clutch and flywheel I have. Either way, it's going..

Just found out that clutch and flywheel have to be replaced at the same time. Just for shit's, I called the dealership. $1300, installed, stock parts. OUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Basically I'm reaching out for some help on what path I should take to do this right and to not pay out the ass..

First, any aftermarket ideas that is a good combo and is affordable? Maybe just a slight aftermarket improvement over the stock parts) Or should I maybe do stock??

I've got better people (than the dealership) in the area to do the actual work (as I think doing it myself isn't going to be possible without a lot of help). I just need to know some prices to expect.. parts, labor...

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thanks, guys

So I just read that when you get close to 300 hp (which my stage2 should be close to) your stock clutch starts slipping. So I guess now I'm wondering what my best aftermarket clutch/fw combo is that's enough of an upgrade to handle the hp, but nothing crazy.. and of course.. price!! :(

So I just read that when you get close to 300 hp (which my stage2 should be close to) your stock clutch starts slipping. So I guess now I'm wondering what my best aftermarket clutch/fw combo is that's enough of an upgrade to handle the hp, but nothing crazy.. and of course.. price!! :(

300whp. You are no-where in the ballpark of that at stage 2. Do you want (1) reliablity (2) performance (3) cheap. Pick 2.

Figure $550+ for parts and the labor at least $350+ as a reasonable baseline for a cheap shop and go from there.

I suggest a clutchmasters cx200 or cx300 in your case and a single mass WRX flywheel.